Breaking News
Home / Latest News / Irish Sailing Awards

Irish Sailing Awards

Irish Sailing Awards, Royal Dublin Society, Dublin 27/1/2017 Pictured (L-R) Volvo Youth Sailor of the Year Nominee Sophie Crosbie, Volvo Youth Sailor of the Year Nominee Aoife Hopkins, Volvo Sailor of the Year Annalise Murphy, John Twomey of the 2016 Irish Paralympic Sailing Team, Volvo Youth Sailor of the Year Nominee Nicole Hemeryck, Volvo Youth Sailor of the Year Winner Ewan MacMahon, Credit: Inpho

Adding another award to the shelf, Annalise Murphy was named as the Volvo Sailor of the Year at the Volvo Irish Sailing Awards. Hosted by the Irish Sailing Association (ISA), the annual event drew a record crowd of over 330 people from across the sailing community to celebrate an historic year of sailing in 2016, culminating in an Olympic silver medal for Ireland.

The Volvo Sailor of the Year Award, newly sponsored by Volvo Car Ireland, drew from a shortlist of nominees who each won an Afloat Magazine Sailor of the Month award. The star-studded shortlist included Vendée Globe competitor Enda O’Coineen, Olympic sailors Ryan Seaton and Matt McGovern, and Conor Clarke and the crew of Embarr (winners of the Melges 24 World Championship in Miami).
Ewan MacMahon of Howth Yacht Club took home the Volvo Youth Sailor of the year for his silver medal at the KBC Radial Youth Worlds in Dun Laoghaire. The award was hotly contested from a shortlist which shows the depth of talented young sailors flying up the ranks. The nominees included Sophie Crosbie, Girls Topper World Champion; Nicole Hemeryck who finished in the top ten at the Youth Worlds in New Zealand, and Conor O’Beirne who captained Team Ireland at the KBC Radial Youth Worlds.
Co. Limerick’s Foynes Yacht Club took home the Volvo ISA Training Centre of the Year award, having been nominated as winners of the South Region. The two other nominees on the shortlist were Mullaghmore Sailing Club (West & North Region winners) and Dublin’s Clontarf Yacht and Boat Club (winner of the East Region).

This year, there were two ISA President’s Awards, given to those who have shown exceptional dedication and success in their sailing fields. Rory Fitzpatrick of the ISA received an award for his coaching of Annalise Murphy, and Colin Morehead received his president’s award for his success with the “Try Sailing” programme in Royal Cork Yacht Club, with over one hundred adults trying sailing for the first time.

Share This:



At we promote, support and report women's sport in Ireland at Senior and International level. We would like this to be your platform so if you would like to share a story, have a rant or just give your opinion on something sports related send it to us. If you are an athlete that would like to promote yourself let us know about yourself. If you have a fundraising event in your club let us know and we will help you to promote it. We are always interested in up and coming athletes and if there is someone inspirational in your community let us know about them. If you have a good idea for the website, let us know too. Contact us at